The main goal of the Department of Physical Sciences and Technologies of Matter (DSFTM) is to contribute to knowledge advances in the field of physics of matter and materials science, pursuing the effort of closing the distance between fundamental research on materials properties and potential technological applications. This is achieved thanks to the strong expertizes available in the different research Institutes of the DSFTM, where basic research activities are carried out in strong collaboration with University and Industry, by using and developing innovative instrumentation and facilities.
The Department is organized in 12 Institutes spread over the whole National territory with about 700 staff researchers and 300 associated university professors. DSFTM plays an important linking role between University and Industry by supporting students and young researchers in developing basic research in its own laboratories located, in some cases, on the premises of the industrial settlements. DSFTM is also the leading interface for the national Industry to access to the European Research Infrastructures.

The multidisciplinary approach of the research activity is a key element to tackle ambitious challenges and to contribute to National competitiveness and sustainable development, thus enhancing the economic and social wellness.
The strategic areas where the DSFTM has a leading role are:

  1. Optics, photonics, atomic and quantum technologies
  2. Micro– nanoelectronics, sensors, micro– nanosystems
  3. Complex systems, soft matter and biophysics
  4. Innovative materials and advanced characterization techniques